msjessica's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eurydice and reckoning

I can feel grief knocking at my door a little bit.

It’s been a really busy and somewhat chaotic week since Mum passed. Between organizing her funeral for Thursday, to allow me to travel to Tasmania Friday, then to have 2 nights there seeing shows and catching up with friends, now landing back in Melbourne and being..... grateful and ok and.... busy, I guess. Now I’m starting to slow down and just 10 minutes ago I think for the first time since it happened I really thought “she’s gone”, and I quickly brushed it away. But I will have to face it.

Alongside all that, there has been a terrible incident in Melbourne last week of a young girl attacked, raped and murdered on her way home from work, in a park in my neighboring surburb. Her name was Eurydice, she was only 22. It has of course resurfaced all sorts of conversations in the wider community and is alarming, painful and angering to many. Tomorrow night there is a vigil for her in the park where she was killed, 30 minutes of quiet reflection in her honor, and in honor of all women who have had their lives carelessly taken by men in this manner. I will go with a close friend, to hold space and pay respect and give voice, to be surrounded by many beautiful people and while these are unrelated matters, I am sure within those 30 minutes I will have to face a lot of things. Today that feels like something I can do tomorrow, but maybe tomorrow it will feel like something for tomorrow too.

2:32 p.m. - 2018-06-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

x-y
yellopenguin
studsnpatchs
famelicose
drastik
loveherwell
dope-slave
sunfuck
zoela
thisrecord
leftcoast
hiv
anna-popcorn
clapclapclap
birds-fly
takenbytrees
doctorkaysen
cuntfeel
rebecca
bangyrdead
usb-port
oh-my-darlin
friskyseal
moodswing
tsulnagrom
kittensblood
sntheticlove
reawaken
winteranfang
ninabean
x--8letters
hiswickedgun
cymbals
pettyquarrel
erases
glorycloud
verydamnlong
notathought
kateness
hotwaterlove
gonzoprophet
with-squalor
boyafterboy
malanoche
pitter-pat
boyecho
manvsdevil
amazinfuckup
-eyes
drawtheline